Home » Uncategorized » Turtles and Duck Butts

Turtles and Duck Butts

Recently I purchased a new camera—a Nikon CoolPix P510.  It’s a fancy point and shoot, not a digital single lens reflex (DSLR) camera.  The DSLR cameras are probably better for food photography, but they are also more complicated and much more expensive.  I knew that I didn’t want to spend upwards of $1,000 on something that was going to make me feel stupid.  I’m still not entirely sure how to use all the functions on this “simpler” model, but it sure beats the other camera I was using.  I did do some research and knew that I wanted a camera with a decent optical zoom and fairly broad ISO range (although I’m still a little fuzzy on what that means).  So far I have been very pleased with the images I’m able to capture.

One of the best things about a new fancier camera is that I’m more eager to go outside and explore nature now that I can document it in a way I couldn’t before.  I am lucky enough to live near a beautiful waterway that is a mix of ponds, channels, and other riparian areas that surround the Willamette River.  The wetlands are a habitat for both permanent wildlife and a pit stop along the Pacific Flyway for migrating birds.  Here are some of the ponds current inhabitants.

Image

Image

Image

 

Leave a comment